Scrum Master

How to Get Your Scrum Master Certification?

Table of Contents

What is Scrum Master?

As a result of this, traditional project management methods focused on Scrum Master finishing projects in stages. Many corporate executives, on the other hand, believe that we must be more adaptable. Because of today’s fast-paced, ever-changing nature of work, this is especially true. As stated by, “Scrum is a framework that enables teams to collaborate effectively on complicated projects.”

Team members are encouraged to produce a product over a period of time by following Scrum’s guide. Continuous improvement of your product, team, and workplace is the core of this strategy. Ongoing client input is also taken into consideration in Scrum.

The Scrum framework relies on a large number of people and procedures. The Scrum Master is the one we’re concentrating on here.

What is the role of a Scrum Master?

Everybody needs a Scrum Master to help them understand and apply the principles of Scrum Sprintzeal. For example, according to, a Scrum Master works as a liaison between a product owner, a development team, and an organization.

The Scrum Master’s customary duties include the following:

  • Understanding the goals, scope, and product domain is essential for a successful team
  • Organizing Scrum meetings and sprints
  • The development team’s self-organization and trifunctionality are coached.
  • Assisting in the creation of high-quality products
  • Planned organizational Scrum implementations
  • In order to make Scrum more understandable to workers and stakeholders,
  • Scrum Master responsibilities need a wide range of abilities, as seen by this list. You must be able to communicate effectively with both technical and non-technical stakeholders in order to be a successful project manager.

How do you become a Scrum Master?

What does it take to become a Scrum Master, and how do you do it?

Scrum Master certificates are available from a variety of organizations.

Scrum Master certifications that are popular include:

  • PSM (’s official designation)
  • Scrum Alliance Certified ScrumMaster (CSM)
  • Project Management Institute’s (PMI) Agile Certified Practitioner (ACP)

Let’s take a closer look at each one.

Certification as a Professional Scrum Master (PSM). Professional Scrum Master Certification (PSM) is offered by this organization.

PSM I, PSM II, and PSM III are the three levels of the PSM.

In order to verify Microsoft’s competency in Application Lifecycle Management (ALM), Microsoft employs PSM.


It’s a good starting point for those who wish to demonstrate their ability to work with agile software. After completing PSM, you will be awarded the Scrum certification for $150. You have 60 minutes to answer 80 questions in the PSM I exam. To be certified, you must get an overall average of at least 85% on the certification exam. Taking the test is completely optional, and there are no requirements. Empower your employees No re-certification or renewal fees are required for the PSM certification.


The PSM II indicates a high degree of proficiency in Scrum. Cost: $250 for the test to receive certification, you must score at least 85%. The PSM II exam consists of 30 multiple-choice questions that must be answered in 90 minutes. Multiple-choice, multiple-answer, and true/false questions make up the majority of these questions.


It is clear that the PSM III has achieved a high degree of Scrum proficiency. It costs $500 to take the exam. During the PSM III exam, you have 120 minutes to answer 30 questions. A mixture of multiple-choice and essay questions are used in the test. To be certified, you must get an overall average of at least 85% on the certification exam.

Certified Scrum Master (CSM) certification

CSM certification is offered by Scrum Alliance, a non-profit organization. Compared to the PSM test, the CSM exam has a better reputation and is regarded simpler. Before you can sit for the CSM test, you’ll need to meet a few prerequisites. You must take a course from a qualified Scrum trainer in person or through the internet. If you like, you may hire a Certified Agile Coach (CAC) to work with you privately.

You then take a 50-question examination. In order to pass the exam, you must score at least 37 right answers in a time restriction of 60 minutes. Every two years, the CSM requires you to re-certify. This is a one-time fee of $100.

Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP) certification

The Project Management Institute (PMI) also offers an agile certification. Scrum, Kanban, Lean, and more are all covered by the PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (ACP).

Before taking the ACP test, there are a number of requirements that must meet.

  • In general, I have 2,000 hours of project experience
  • Working with Agile teams for 1,500 hours
  • A total of 21 hours of training in Agile techniques
  • There are 120 multiple-choice questions in the PMI-ACP test. PMI members pay $435, while non-members pay $495 for the PMI-ACP.

Every three years, you must re-certify. The renewal fee is $60 for PMI members and $150 for non-members.

Share this article:
You May Also Like